An Overlooked Key to Dieting Success!

Image

I’ve been following the Engine 2 Diet for a year and am now the thinnest and healthiest that I’ve ever been. When I first started this diet, however; I wasn’t successful. In fact, I didn’t think I’d ever succeed because I kept binging.

And when I binged, I chastised and beat up on myself only to spiral down a negative path of self-pity and more binging. It was a vicious cycle that was sabotaging me.

As a psychotherapist, I knew the root of the problem wasn’t binging. Binging is an action, and before an action comes a thought. The thoughts that led me to binge were the real problem.

I knew the thoughts that led me to binge were negative thoughts about me and my ability to succeed. To deal with these thoughts, I started reading The Self Acceptance Handout everyday to boost my self-esteem and banish my negative thinking.

What made me decide to share this handout today is that I slipped up and binged recently (see I Binged Last Night). This made me realize that I haven’t read The Self Acceptance Handout for a while. So I read it, immediately felt empowered and decided that everyone should have access to this handout.

Developing self acceptance, even when you fail, is vital to dieting success. So read this handout everyday and achieve your goals.

The Self-Acceptance Handout

I accept myself just the way I am today. Although there are things about myself that I want to change, I am okay just the way I am right now. I don’t need to be perfect to be okay. I observe myself with compassion and forgiveness. I recognize that no one is free of flaws or problems. I’m doing the best I can to deal with the problems I have. As I accept myself, flaws and all, I will begin to move forward. As I accept myself I will begin to change.

I am a human being and I am subject to faults, failings and mistakes just like everyone else. Although some of my actions may be negative, I am not a bad person for behaving badly some of the time. I am simply a human being doing the best I can. I don’t need to beat myself up or put myself down for my imperfections. I give myself permission to be human.

I don’t need to be perfect to be okay. I won’t expect perfection of myself any longer. I will no longer beat up on myself for being human. No one is perfect. Everyone makes mistakes. Growth and success come from making mistakes and learning from them. I can have flaws, imperfections, make mistakes AND be okay.

I accept that when I do something stupid or when I fail on occasion that this does not add up to being a stupid person or a failure. I will no longer put pressure on myself to be perfect. I am human and I am okay.

I appreciate anyone who takes the time to say hello! I love receiving your comments and questions, so please contact me. Email: celestedimilla(at)yahoo(dot)com (pardon this funky spelling…it helps prevent spam).

Image courtesy of Sattva / http://www.freedigitalphotos.net

About celestedimilla

Hey there. I’m Celeste, California girl, writer, psychotherapist and burgeoning plant-based foodie.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Plant-Based Diet and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Overlooked Key to Dieting Success!

  1. cryingfire says:

    Thanks for sharing! I think I’m going to print that up to keep around the house. 🙂

Leave a Reply

